What I Learned from Making This GIF

After several hours of painstaking drafts, I managed to make the following GIF in time to turn in for class.

Over the course of this struggle, I had plenty of time to reflect a bit about my process of creating. As an artist, I try to create often. Anything from prints and paintings, to baking a cake, I’m constantly thinking of projects to work on. It starts with an idea, then grows and evolves until it’s finished. At the beginning I always have the illusion it will be easy; that the work will be pleasurable, it will go quickly and smoothly. This is rarely, if ever, the case: some element always remains unanticipated, the idea mutates as it develops.
Take this GIF:
My plan was to animate a photo of a fine art print I made last semester. The assignment was just to make some kind of animated GIF, but I wanted it to be at least a little original. I imagined a rotating component, I wanted to make parts of the pattern appear gradually, and move around a little bit. Alas these things proved to be a bit beyond my skill level, this being my first GIF ever.

I had to adapt.

 

wow, that's zazzy!

wow, that’s zazzy!

The final piece has a rotating component (though not the original one I imagined) and it flashes. What more could one want from a GIF? It looks pretty snazzy, and I’m pretty satisfied with it.

Some times I like how a project takes shape, it all works out with minimal editing, and few obstacles. Some times not. But creating isn’t really about the product, it’s about the process. About solving all the problems that arise, about changing elements that don’t work as well as you thought they might, and accepting that this thing isn’t what you planned. Above all I always try to take away a lesson, to let the process feed into my own personal growth and evolution.

Leave a Reply

