Project in Progress: Video Remix Project Update

A couple sessions of gathering and converting YouTube clips, and a few hours of editing and I have the base of what I’m working on: I’m pleased to report the initial work for the video project is done!

I’ve talked about it before, but I’m still fascinated by the evolution a piece of art goes through during it’s creation. I included in my proposal, an in depth description of a dream I’m trying to capture in remix video. This is to serve as a general guide and a point of reference, not a serious script. It’s a jumping place, and something to look back at when the piece is done, so I can document more clearly the overall process.

I am really enjoying using video because I find it so easily manipulate. It makes good sense to me, scrolling, cutting, pasting, matching like pieces together, transitioning. I plan on using video layering techniques in this project to help achieve the ethereal/emotional quality of a dream, and also because I love it (if you saw my GIFs then you already know!).

The biggest challenge was how to recombine all my clipped footage. I have so many tiny segments, and several longer sections yet to be overlapped to help provide continuity within the piece (with almost 20 source videos, I need some continuous elements for blending). I’m learning a lot about adding effects, as I tweak each little piece to match and fit with the next. At the end I plan on adding a single effect over the whole piece to assist with the overall feel of the work.

 

6133269811_ca18685aa6_b

Original Artwork

I am trying to break it down into manageable deadlines (draft finished tomorrow, polished by next tuesday) based on class expectation, and also so I don’t lose sight of the other work I have to finish.

I experience this anxious eagerness whenever I work on a piece, I can’t work on it enough. I can’t finish it soon enough. It’s not that I don’t like the process, but that I love it so much I want to completely submerge myself in it. I want to follow my muse/interest fully and completely, without distraction. I often think if school was set up in a fashion where I took one intensive course at a time, that I would be much more successful at it. I comprehend best when I submerge myself completely. Scientifically the human mind is not capable of multitasking, though we often try. The mind works best when focused on one thing at a time. It only seems obvious that education should follow.

Leave a Reply

