Video Project and Reflection

Making this video, I took inspiration from a very specific dream sequence. Here in the final piece I can only see a faint glimmer of the original plan. Seeing that seed glimmering in the heart of the final product made me recall the old saying: There’s a grain of truth in every lie. Picasso himself famously said,

“We all know that Art is not truth. Art is a lie that makes us realize truth at least the truth that is given us to understand. The artist must know the manner whereby to convince others of the truthfulness of his lies.”

I’m not saying there is a universal truth in this video, but there is an individual truth. The truth of my emotion and my dream experience, and I think I captured/communicated that well. I made it with the intention of stirring the imagination. I made it with the intention of questioning the superficial, and in an effort provoke deeper thought in my audience. I make all my art with these intentions. I hope to create visually fascinating things that connect and communicate with others.
I hope to convince people that my art holds truth.

I give you my final video project: (recut)

 

Leave a Reply

